Velella's Drift

An account of Velella's voyage from Seattle to New York via Panama, 2009-2011

Stop reading this blog

Dear readers, most of whom I’m sure are family, but still:

So many of you have commented enthusiastically on these stories with notes like “you’re living the dream” and “we’re living vicariously through you.” After our trial run down the Pacific Coast, we are not scared off. More than ever, we want to continue traveling south through the Panama Canal and the Caribbean with the final destination being New York City. Our plan is to leave for Mexico November 1, 2010 and arrive to New York by June 1, 2011 at the latest. We are putting together a semi-rigid itinerary for the voyage, in part due to the inflexibility of hurricane season, which we need to avoid, but in part so that anyone who would like to join us for a taste of “the life” may do so at any point along the way. San Diego to Cabo San Lucas? The wild Pacific coast of Mexico? Historically-rich Panama Canal? A week-long passage through Caribbean coral reefs to Jamaica? Harbor-hopping ports of the Deep South? Chesapeake Bay?!

There are so many scenes and itineraries to choose from, and we want to share them with others. We’ll ask only that you contribute only a couple hundred dollars for a week to cover food and fuel (a mighty good deal for a week’s stay on a yacht in the Caribbean!). We can comfortably accommodate two passengers at a time, and the trip can be as hands-on or relaxing (or as long) as you like. Don’t let those stories of the raw Northwest coast dissuade you—it’s warm and sunny down here!

Right now we’re just trying to get a sense of who would seriously consider joining us for a leg. Please raise your hands (electronically) by commenting here or shooting us an email (velella.sv@gmail.com). To those who respond, we will send more specific information on itinerary, costs, destinations, etc. We’re evening designing Velella “crew” t-shirts for the welcome aboard package!

We miss you all and would love to have you join us for a trip we promise will be most memorable.

9 Comments»

  webecomeus wrote @

i’m raising my hand!!!!!!!!!!!!! (and kyle’s)

  Shayna wrote @

hand raised high! 🙂

  Jenna wrote @

My tendency toward seasickness will keep me sadly away, BUT I have two trips to San Diego planned to see family. Once over Christmas, and once again sometime this winter. I’d love to try to coordinate so I can see you guys down there.

Also, your LA piece was great. You don’t sell yourself, but can I make you? You need to find a home for your writing- you’re too good not to!

  Kate wrote @

I am raising my hand as well! I can’t imagine a better-sounding vacation. I’m also betting Breanna would love to join as well, I’ll tell her.

  josh wrote @

I’m pretty sure I will regret this for the rest of my life, but I don’t think I will be able to make it. Spring break is my only option and since the wedding is this summer, I think I will need any additional time available to get everything in order.

Return voyage next July?

  Papa wrote @

I’m a qualified line-handler for the canal transit.
Please lemme know when to be where.
XXXO,

  janice reid wrote @

Butch and I are interested for sure. Details?

  Clayton wrote @

I would love to join you two for awhile. However, I have no idea if that is going to happen. I am trying to quit my job, but still do not have another one lined up. I really have no idea what 2010 is going to bring my way. But, if you have details of your journey worked out, please send them my way. Later.

  justinwi wrote @

I barf on boats, but will you be passing by Puerto Rico at any time? Dana and I are seriously considering temporarily relocating there. It would be a blast to meet up!

Congrats on the adventure, now that we’ve found your blog, we’ll be following along!

Justin


Leave a Reply

