Velella's Drift

An account of Velella's voyage from Seattle to New York via Panama, 2009-2011

I forgot the password

It’s like this blog died and I’m going to revive it. And it’s like I died in LA a little bit and I’m about to be revived by living out my wildest dreams.

The past nine months in LA have been  a blur, in part because we’ve been busy with working harder than ever for every dime, and in part because I didn’t like it too much here. It’s not a place that’s very conducive to living frugally, that’s for sure, and the filth in the Marina just freaks me out. Now I’m so used to the washed-out blue of the sky and the translucent green hue of the water that I don’t really think about it, but I can’t wait to look back on the ball of smog as we leave it astern.

I think I decided to let LA be an out-of-body experience the day Prescott came home from an interview  and told me his future boss asked if he’d ever had a coffee enema. When Prescott said, “um, no,” the interviewer was like, “oh man, you should–it’s totally WILD.” After that, I stopped remembering much of anything about LA.

But I must say, it wasn’t all bad. We danced to Yeasayer under a life-sized skeleton of a T-rex at the Natural History Museum for $9. That was completely awesome. And we got a tricolored kitten for free, who I’m sure by now most of you have met on Facebook, and who will be the subject of many a blog post in the upcoming months.

We’re two weeks out from casting off for good, and our list is still long, but finally dwindling. Here’s a sample of what’s left:

Bind offshore yacht and health insurance

Pull and recaulk decks, and replace popped bungs

Restitch a small tear in the genoa

Finish making screens for the portholes

Spend a day or two up the mast surveying every inch, installing the radar reflector, tie-backs for the lazy jacks, touching up spar paint

Install a water filter that will strain out Giardia and other microbes that will make us sick in Central America

Take Nessie to the vet and apply for her International Health Certificate (read many hoops)

Fix the outboard engine that we got for free from a neighbor (SO AWESOME)

Shopping day for all the other spares (steering cables, hoses, gaskets, etc) and daily living stuff (cockroach tablets, T-shirts and cigarettes for bribing Central American officials, etc).

A bunch of other little things you don’t necessarily care about. The point is, I can see the end of the list. It’s rather scary to see the end of the list, because the list is all I know.

Wow, saying that felt like a confessional, but I said it. I’ve been a slave to the list and that’s IT for almost 2 years now. ICAN’T BELIEVE WEFINALLYMADEITTOTHEENDOFTHELIST!!!!

I also can’t wait to let my mind relax enough to start writing again.

4 Comments»

  Papa J. wrote @

and I can’t wait to resume reading your posts… the adventures of Velella and her crew! may you enjoy an abundance of fair winds and following seas. xxxo

  Lucie wrote @

Love you both. Best of luck and can’t wait to see you in Guatemala. ¡Que te vaya bien!

  janice wrote @

sorry your time in LA was so unpleasant. hope the rest of the world is better.

  CaptCleary wrote @

Janice I woke up this morning and told Prescott that the days we spent in San Simeon at Hearst Castle with you and the family were my favorite memories from the whole trip so far! LA, on the other hand, wasn’t so much our cup of tea, especially because we weren’t even able to afford tea… : )


Leave a Reply

