Velella's Drift

An account of Velella's voyage from Seattle to New York via Panama, 2009-2011

American Sailing

As many of you are already aware, I spent the last nine months working for the American Sailing Association as their social media writer. During that time, I had the opportunity to go on some very cool sailing trips to the Bahamas and to Croatia to write about the experience. Well, as it turned out, they liked my narrative writing so much that when I gave my notice this fall they asked if I would continue to write for them over the course of our sailing trip.

At first, I hesitated. I told them I’d worked very hard to be free of commitment, and didn’t want to feel “indentured” to the ASA. But they said they wouldn’t ask me to do anything I don’t already do–i.e. anything outside of the writing I already post here on this blog. So, with the American Sailing Association standing there wanting to basically buy up pieces of velellasdrift, how could I refuse?!

So, the ASA will be sponsoring our trip now, and I will be sending roughly one blog per week back to the their blog site (http://www.asa.com/social_media). They have hired a new social media coordinator to work from the office, but our story will be featured as an ongoing “sailing lifestyle” narrative. In addition, they are seeking external sponsors for our trip from the maritime industry–in fact I just spoke with one today who is looking at sending some gear and coming on board as an official sponsor. So don’t be surprised if you see a burgee flying from our spreaders with some major brand logo on there. Either way, you’ll be seeing these hats a lot probably : )

Because I am truly thankful for their honest support of the “sailing lifestyle.” Only in America can you quit everything to go sailing, and make money while doing it! T-minus 10 DAYS!

6 Comments»

  Caitlin wrote @

you’re pretty.

  Papa wrote @

Wow Meg, you and Prescott have found some good friends and earnest supporters of the voyage of Velella in MDR. Not a bad stop-over after all, eh?
Congrats to you both as you close the MDR chapter and continue the trek.

  Brook wrote @

You are so amazing. Fairy dust continues to be sprinkled on you and Prescott. You must be doing something right!

  ogm wrote @

sail on silverheels!!!

  Jacqueline Newbold wrote @

This is wonderful! Congratulations!!!

  Caitlin wrote @

ssshhh… congrats on that whisper pole, by the way.


Leave a Reply

